Training options for health and social care workers

There are many steps to becoming a professional in the health and social care sector, but you won’t get anywhere without the right training. Working with children, elderly people or those with illnesses or disabilities is a huge responsibility, which is why you will need to meet certain standards of training before you can take on such a role.

This is why the Common Induction Standards (CIS), developed by the Care Quality Commission and Skills for Care, exist as a set of guidelines for people entering the health and social care sector. The aim is to develop a competent, skilled and qualified workforce, in order to better meet the needs of people using health and social care services.

There are many basic care training options available to help you meet the Common Induction Standards, such as training in infection control, basic cleanliness and hygiene, nutrition awareness and medication control. However, if you wish to progress in your chosen field, you must continually develop your skills with further training.

Examples of more advanced care training courses you can take include:

  • Dementia awareness training
  • Palliative care awareness training
  • Loss and bereavement awareness training
  • Stroke awareness training